Conflicted about cameras and content

It’s opening day here in Vancouver, and I’m already facing two dilemmas.

The first one is camera equipment. I’ve been a professional photojournalist for 30 years. I have expensive equipment, designed to do a fabulous job of getting the right image. My camera has an 18-megapixel censor and I have several lenses to use, including a telephoto. I can stand half a block away and get a good image (ok, I exaggerate a little bit.)

The iPhone has a 3-megapixel camera and the Bubo’s wide angle lens attachment mean I have to stand on top of my subject in order to get a quality image. The professional photographer in me wants good images! But I’m here to test this system for Vericorder, so I should go out and shoot people on the hockey rink with the iPhone. This is going to hurt.

The other conflict is about story content. There is a bit of a controversy between the Australian Olympic team and the IOC regarding Australia’s boxing kangaroo mascot. One of our students is going out today to cover a media event with the kangaroo meeting the Olympic and Paralympic mascots. Here’s the dilemma: our story can’t reflect negatively on the IOC, (see yesterday’s post) so how do you cover the event and provide the context for it without at least a perception of negativity towards the IOC?

This is an excellent learning situation for the student and for me, the editor. I don’t know yet how we’ll do it. Stay tuned!

One response to “Conflicted about cameras and content

  1. Karen,

    this is my biggest concern for the “equipment revolution.” YOu know the those who say that one gadget will do everything as well as specific equipment does. Maybe one day but not yet.

    It is so hard to get good action shots, portraits, etc, video footage etc. without the right equipment. I am a firm believer that you cant sacrifice quality or standards for any reason. Doing so cheapens the brand of the publication.

    And as far as not being able to refelct negatively on the IOC? My editor put it to me this way… “Its a good thing they don’t sign your paychecks.” That was enough for me.

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

