Bits ‘n’ pieces from Vancouver

We’re winding down here, and as fun as it’s been, I’m ready to go home. Here are some odds and ends, bits n’ pieces, this n’ that from the trip:

boy in costume

This little guy seems to love his Quatchi (the Sasquatch) costume.

• The Olympic mascots are not very popular, at least not with the adults. This little guy is the best looking version of Quatchi, the Sasquatch, I’ve seen so far. (The other two mascots are Miga the Sea Bear, and Sumi the Thunderbird.)

• Organic vanilla wafers from Whole Foods are good, but they’re no Nilla Wafers. And Nillas don’t cost $8 per box.

• Vancouver is in a great area, but it’s damned expensive. Talked to a woman on the bus today I learned that her 800 sq. feet apartment cost her $250,000 five years ago. She declined to tell me how she could afford it.

• There are more Asian restaurants than you can shake a stick at here. And everything is cooked in teriyaki. But I’ve only seen two pizza places. And one Mexican place.

• Vancouver has a very large Asian population, but not much of a black population (I guess I’d be African Canadian up here.) I sat in on a news conference today for the Okanagan Valley area of British Columbia and unfortunately they were no better than most of the American PR videos I’ve seen: white face after white face after white face. I really wasn’t expecting to have to be me in a situation like this.

So when the four speakers were finished (including David Barkwell from VeriCorder) they asked for questions. Silence. So I just had to ask: “Where are the people like me?” The brave man who tried to answer did a nice dance. I didn’t really care about his answer, I wanted them to get the point. And they did. Right after the news conference I was approached by the mayor of the city of Vernon, a man who is a member of parliament in Kelowna (home of Vericorder) and the director of economic development for the District of Summerland. (wow, did I really do that?!?!)

Of course, they were all white men, but they seemed truly interested in addressing the issue once it had been raised.
But here’s the kicker: this is a great area with lots to do and a wonderful climate (other than the expense.) They could easily attract people of color here if they put the word out. It will take awhile to build a community that would be self-supporting, but I think it could be done.

• How does a company get it’s app highlighted on one of Apple’s iPhone commercials? Dave and I pondered this question last night.

Leave a Reply

