First Test: VeriCorder’s 1st Video app

VeriCorder Technology Inc. released beta copies of its 1st Video software to us last week, and this is the test I’ve been waiting for. Edit video on an iPhone? This, I had to see. I decided to test it out at a baseball game.

Shooting was easy, and the Owle Bubo is a great tool for steady shooting. I wasn’t used to having to save every file, so I was often caught unprepared for the next shot because I hadn’t saved the previous one. I shot just enough to have ample raw materials to use.

I was not optimistic that 1st Video could handle the 21 different shots I had from the game. After shooting, but before editing, my thought was that VeriCorder assumed people would be recording and editing together only a few video clips. I was disappointed, again thinking this wouldn’t work for larger journalistic markets. I think they’re doing this to me on purpose. Someone up in Kelowna, BC, Canada, is saying, “I told you so!”

In fact, the editing of the 21 clips was the least of my problems. I was able to easily add shot after shot to the sequence (known as the Bungee Blocks in VeriCorder’s world.) The files are 4:3 aspect ratio and of good quality for the Internet. A five second file is 2.5 mb.

I’m not good at following manuals, but I knew in this case that I wasn’t going to be able to figure it out on my own. I was easily able to piece together 10 clips into the bungee blocks. But I couldn’t figure out how to preview my sequence. As with many beta versions, the manual gives you enough to get going, but not enough to answer all your trouble shooting questions.

I fumbled around trying to find a way to preview it, but was unable to. I lost that project. So I went to bed.

The next morning I started over, with renewed energy and more patience. I created a new project, figured out how to save it and recreated the sequence. I still don’t know the proper way to preview, but I someone got it done without losing the project. I was even able to record an audio track for it. In 1st video you have one video/photo track and two audio tracks, so the nat sound on your video tracks is retained.

I think this first experience went well. As with all tools, the user needs to figure out the best use for it. As with their VC Pro Audio app, this product is ready to go for smaller markets and citizen journalists. I’m impressed with this release — now that I’ve adjusted my attitude about mobile journalism devices. (see my iPhone/Velveeta post.)

By the way, I still haven’t finished my other video with files shot on my Canon 7D and edited in Final Cut Express. The learning curve for FCE is higher, my patience shorter. But I’m going to keep at it.

~•~

A few techie details:
The final, exported file is a .mov file, 67 seconds long and 7.4mb in size. Dimensions are 480 x 360 (4:3 aspect ratio.)
It took about 4:30 to encode/export the file. Because I haven’t set up the FTP function, I retrieved it from the iPhone using iPhoto.

One response to “First Test: VeriCorder’s 1st Video app

  1. Pingback: Who am I? « Learning as I go

Leave a Reply

