How are the kicks on Route 66?

A friend is taking a road trip this summer. So I am.
He has an extensive plan for his trip. I do not.
Maybe I’d better get to work on that.

~•~

My family is in Arizona and I typically only see them for Christmas. That’s never been ideal, but the best vacation times are over spring break and summer. In March, it’s generally too soon for another visit and Arizona in July or August is just short of unbearable.

But last Christmas I decided that I simply have to visit my mother more than once a year. Also, I now have two dogs that she hasn’t met, and mom loves dogs.

Photo of Frankie and Alvie

Alvie, left, and Frankie have no idea what's in store for them this summer. Luckily they are well socialized and should love everyone they meet.

Airline restrictions make it all but impossible for a single person to fly with two dogs. Additionally I have a piece of furniture that my bother has been storing for me and it’s time I got it out of his garage. (Kevin, I owe you 10 years of storage fees.) So I’ll be driving out to Phoenix in my truck, with my dogs. It’s a 23-hour drive and I hope to make it in two days.

I only have a few concrete plans at this point:

  • Take a lot of books on tape (they’ll be on my iPod.)
  • Try not to stop every two hours for a bathroom break.
  • Stop if I get drowsy — no Driving While Drowsy for me.

Some other points of consideration:

  • My dog do fine when traveling in the truck around town, and when we’ve gone on longer trips, they both sleep. Let’s hope I’m not being overly optimistic, or incredibly stupid.
  • Fortunately I’m not on a tight deadline, but I don’t want to spend forever on the road. There are some good stops along the way, I think I’ll take Interstates 40 and 44 through Tulsa, Amarillo, Albuquerque and Flagstaff. This is basically Route 66, which I’ll enjoy, because I love the song. I have less time on the way back, so any side trips I want to do must happen on the way out (like the Grand Canyon.)
  • My brother suggests that I stop at Big Texan Steak Ranch in Amarillo, home of the 72oz steak challenge. That’s enough food for me and both dogs for a week.
  • Having the dogs means I have to plan my stop, at a pet-friendly hotel somewhere  around the halfway point. Looks like Amarillo will be our overnight stop. I’m using a pet hotel site to find a hotel. http://www.officialpethotels.com/
  • By the way, did you know that you have to get a health certificate to take animals across state lines? I didn’t either, I found out by chance while at the vet one day. So I need to make that appointment.

That feels like all the major stuff (except having the truck checked before the drive.) I’m sure you’ll let me know what I’m forgetting!

3 responses to “How are the kicks on Route 66?

  1. If you stop in Tulsa, I recommend the followng (not in any particular order)

    1. Senor Tequila’s (tex mex)
    2. Queenie’s (deli)
    3. Desi Wok (Indian/Chinese)
    4. Hideaway Pizza

    Hope you have a great trip!

  2. Don’t forget to bring the Taco Johns! 🙂

  3. Can’t wait to see you have 60 Richey Rich comics waiting!

Leave a Reply

