Hour-by-hour look at historic snow storm in Columbia, Mo

Will the predictions come true? I hope not.

Columbia missouri snow

Snow at my house at 9am Tuesday.

I’m not usually a weather weenie, but the blizzard that is working it’s way through mid-Missouri is something I’m paying attention to. The meteorologists are saying we’ll get at least 10 inches and possibly up to 22 inches of snow before it ends tomorrow.

I’m not about to venture out to really cover the storm — frankly, I’m afraid of getting stuck somewhere — so I’m going to try taking a picture an hour at my house. It doesn’t feel like a big challenge right now, but if we get the snow they’re predicting, this is going to be a real mess by dinner time.

This is the second shot of the day, with snow really starting to cover everything. I have a yard stick attached to the tree. I anticipate the grass to “disappear” in the next shot, the neighborhood houses to disappear in the next hour or two. My vehicles will both be cover in about four hours. The tree, since it’s vertical, will be the only constant as the hours progress.

Stay inside, CoMo, and stay warm.

My front yard at 8am, just as the snow is starting to fall.

5 responses to “Hour-by-hour look at historic snow storm in Columbia, Mo

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Hour-by-hour look at historic snow storm in Columbia, Mo | Learning as I go -- Topsy.com

  2. What a great project to work on while you are snow bound today. You should take pix of the boys each hour (or 2) when they go out to do their biz. 😉

    If I don’t get busy today with all the chores that need my attention around here, I will be working on beading projects. Hooray!

  3. Pingback: Blizzard 2011: 10 a.m. | Learning as I go

  4. Pingback: MyMissourian.com

Leave a Reply

