The Waiting Game: Waiting for all the elements to gel

As a photographer, I spend a lot of time waiting. And I’m not talking about waiting for games to start or press conferences to happen.

The kind of waiting I’m talking about is the waiting we do, hoping for all the right elements to come together to make a good picture. Photographers see slices of life all around us, just waiting for the right elements to come together: the right light, a person to be in the frame at just the right spot.

I’ve been waiting for this picture since last season.

After making a free throw, Alex Oriakhi, right, is congratulated by a teammate. Oriakhi was made 5 of 6 free throw attempts.

After making a free throw, Alex Oriakhi, right, is congratulated by a teammate. I saw this moment last season but wasn’t able to make the picture work.

Shooting game after game after game — any kind of game — becomes an effort of finding the different shot, an exercise in continuing to “see.”One thing I keep looking for is detail shots, isolated moments.

So tell me: does it work? In my mind it always did, but seeing it now, I’m not sure if there’s enough context.

It took many games to finally get it. I was often blocked by other players or they didn’t do the high five or I didn’t have the right lens or my focus was off. You get the idea.

Talk to any photojournalist and they could tell you of a number of pictures they’re just waiting to make.

When all the elements come together.

One response to “The Waiting Game: Waiting for all the elements to gel

  1. It worked for me, without description it’s basketball in it’s peaceful moment. “Great shot”.

Leave a Reply

