MOONLIGHT ILLUMINATIONS: Trying to get rid of the violence

My summer as a basketball coach

Moonlight Hoops basketball league, Columbia, Mo.

The Moonlight Hoops basketball league is a true Learning As I Go situation. Over the past several days I’ve been posting about my experiences, with some relevant photos, some are of my team, some are of other teams.

LeShone dribbles the ball up the court, playing his heart out as usual.

LeShone dribbles the ball up the court, playing his heart out as usual.

Tuesday night LeShone showed up, the first one there, as always. He told me that he really wanted to — no, needed to — play tonight, he needed that game. Last week he played hard but his shots just wouldn’t fall, so I reassured him that

LeShone decorated a shirt in tribute to his aunt. He only told me that she had died, not the way in which she had died.

LeShone decorated a shirt in tribute to his aunt. He only told me that she had died, not the way in which she had died.

he was still one of our starters. He mumbled something else then told me that his aunt had passed the night before. That’s all he told me, but the shirt he was wearing told me more. He had turned a plain, gray T-shirt into a memorial for his aunt, Georgina Randall. That’s all I knew. So of course I went in search of more information. It took several days, as expected, but today I found the information. His aunt was gunned down by her boyfriend, in front of her young children. She was one of three people shot to death in Chicago that day. Ironically, she had moved back to her Chicago for a fresh start and pursue a career in criminal justice.

Leave a Reply

