MOONLIGHT ILLUMINATIONS: It’s still Douglass Park after all

My summer as a basketball coach

The Moonlight Hoops basketball league is a true Learning As I Go situation. Over the past several days I’ve been posting about my experiences, with some relevant photos, some are of my team, some are of other teams.

I love the way D'Anglo, center, plays defense. He has good court sense and fills the hole under the basket, preventing backdoor plays. Here he scrambles for a loose ball.

I love the way D’Anglo, center, plays defense. He has good court sense and fills the hole under the basket, preventing backdoor plays. Here he scrambles for a loose ball.

Remember that stolen T-shirt? Funny thing. I took my camera out to shoot photos Tuesday night. I had set my Canon 7D with 70-200mm lens on the ground by the bench. Someone asked me how much it cost, so I told him.

“DAMN!!” he said.

Then D’Anglo (pronounced DeAngelo) turned to me and said, “I wouldn’t be setting that down. This is Douglass.” His meaning: Douglass Park is in Columbia’s ‘hood. It’s all relative, of course, but for Columbia, this is a crime hub. I was trying to ignore the reputation of the park, but after he said that, I carried the camera on my shoulder for the rest of the game.

The player who warned me about leaving it on the ground is the same kid whose T-shirt was stolen the next night. I guess he was right.

Leave a Reply

