MOONLIGHT ILLUMINATIONS: The Golden Hour of light

My summer as a basketball coach

The Moonlight Hoops basketball league is a true Learning As I Go situation. Over the past several days I’ve been posting about my experiences, with some relevant photos, some are of my team, some are of other teams.

The Golden Hour, with it's warms tones and harsh contrasts. I love the way it looks.

The Golden Hour, with it’s warms tones and harsh contrasts. I love the way it looks.

The quality of the light for the games is amazing — for the first game. But it ducks behind the trees by the end of the 7 p.m. game and by the 9 p.m. game we’re looking at 5000 ISO, 250 at f3.5. And remember, this league is 99 percent black kids. But while it’s there, that evening light is just beautiful. The warm glow is very fitting — it goes quite well with the 90-degree heat of Midwest summer evenings.

I love the rim light that occurs as the sun just about disappears from the court.

I love the rim light that occurs as the sun just about disappears from the court.

Being little more than organized streetball, there’s great access for photographers (if they’re brave enough to come to Douglass Park.) Most of the journalism students at Missouri are white, and Douglass is predominantly black.

Playing east to west, they play into the sun. From west to east, they are horribly backlit.

Playing east to west, they play into the sun. From west to east, they are horribly backlit.

It can be an intimidating place. But if you can get past that, you’ll have a good experience there. After four weeks, I’ve nearly forgotten about the history of crime there and now I’m just enjoying the people and the interactions. And the good light.

Leave a Reply

