Scenes from The Great Wall

Our group of nine University of Missouri journalism students on the Great Wall, north of Beijing. Our trip here is part cultural, part working. They will be the English language reporters covering the China Open tennis tournament for the tournament's website.

Our group of nine University of Missouri journalism students on the Great Wall, north of Beijing. Our trip here is part cultural, part working. They will be the English language reporters covering the China Open tennis tournament for the tournament’s website.

Beijing—I spent some quality time watching tourists at the Badaling section of The Great Wall a few days ago. I visited the wall last year and, frankly, didn’t feel like climbing as much this year. So the students and I rode the tram up, walked to the first good resting point and they went off while I stayed put.

I spent the hour or so just watching the people. I don’t claim that these are great photos, but I do like this record of our visit.

One of the things I like about this group of photos is that I’ve been able to capture people smiling. Now this is a gross generalization, but it seems like the Chinese do not smile that much, like their overall demeanor is subdued. I wouldn’t say they are unhappy but rather they just don’t show happiness as readily.

You can see our official work on the China Open website.

Leave a Reply

