Serena Williams, then and now

Serena Williams, playing in the 2000 US Open, left, and practicing yesterday at the China Open.

Serena Williams, playing in the 2000 US Open, left, and practicing yesterday at the China Open.

One of my favorite pictures from my time working in New York was the one on the left of Serena Williams at the US Open. I was very happy with the picture back then because it showed her powerful legs. Now, 13 years later, she is even stronger. I’m hoping I can get a shot of her at play, not wearing the longer practice gear she has on here. I wish I had a picture of her shoulders from back then.She says she doesn’t even work on building her shoulders any more.

Suffice to say that both she and Venus are here at the China Open and that makes me  very happy camper. They will be playing doubles and singles so hopefully I will be able to get out of the media center and go watch them at some point.

Serena Williams practicing Thursday at Beijing's Olympic Park tennis complex. This was the best access I could get.

Serena Williams practicing Thursday at Beijing’s Olympic Park tennis complex. This was the best access I could get. I was close, but not the best angle.

Leave a Reply

