A wonderful day with the Clydesdales at Warm Springs Ranch

This is one of the babies, running on of the Warm Springs pastures with his mom. He's about a month old.

This is one of the babies, running on of the Warm Springs pastures with his mom. He’s about a month old.

One of the things that makes journalism such a wonderful career path is the amazing things we get to experience. Tuesday was one of those special days in my career: I got to spend time at Warm Springs Ranch, one of the homes of the Budweiser Clydesdales. It’s just west of Columbia, in Boonville.

John SotoAnd I met an amazing guy, a guy who loves his job as much as I love mine. John Soto is the ranch manager at Warm Springs, and this time of year is a very special time: foaling season. The day we went out was fabulous: they had three newborns, one each over the previous three days.

They didn’t have names yet, but the tradition is that the offspring’s name starts with the same letter of the mother. So we saw three mares, that I have named Baby F (Fiona), Baby M (Marge) and Baby A (Adrianna).

I had no official duty that day, I had been invited along by my college, Judd Slivka, who is doing a fabulous job working with “mobile journalism.” I put that in quotes because I hate the tern, but that’s a blog post for another day. Judd and his co-instructor, Ryan Famuliner, were there to shoot a video for use in a workshop in a few weeks. I was along for moral support and to shoot stills that might be used either in that video or the “making of” video.

Here are some of the photos from that day. Some explain the day and the ranch. Others are just because it’s such a fabulous place, I wanted to show you more.

I hope you enjoy.
(Click on any image to bring up the slideshow.)

Grant’s Farm, “prep” school of the Budweiser Clydesdales, St. Louis
Budweiser Clydesdale blog
Past Budweiser Clydesdale commercials

 

Leave a Reply

