Third year for China, Beijing and tennis, still a great trip

Mizzou students at the Great Wall near Beijing. From left are Jake Lutes, Jason Steimer, Jason Bredehoeft, Andrew Kauffman, Paxton DiBlasi and Daniel Shapiro.

Mizzou students at the Great Wall near Beijing. From left are Jake Lutes, Jason Steimer, Jason Bredehoeft, Andrew Kauffman, Paxton DiBlasi and Daniel Shapiro.

 

People leave offerings of food at Buddha idols at the Wall.

People leave offerings of food at Buddha idols at the Wall.

It took me a while, but I’ve finally put together a selection of photos from China. Getting back home is an exhausting 24 hours of travel, getting in late on a Monday night. I was able to take Tuesday off but right back into the thick of it on Wednesday. Getting back is the hardest part of the trip.

In my photography I tried not to duplicate what I’ve shot before but I was sick several days this year and didn’t get to do as much. (I went to the Great Wall again but was too weak to climb very far.)

For those who don’t know, the University of Missouri (where I teach) has a journalism class that covers the China Open tennis tournament, held in the Olympic tennis park in Beijing. The students write stories which are used on the English-language side of the China Open website. We also have several days available for touring, shopping, getting lost, etc. This is like the third time I’ve gone.

The tournament wasn’t as good this year for me because Serena Williams dropped out with an injury and Venus Williams dropped out due to illness. Djokovic won again, which was nice to see. He’s a really nice guy and is much loved in China.

I hope you find something here that causes you to smile or to wonder or the react. I try to create moments to share with others, not just memories that have no meaning beyond me. You can see other images from China in my posts from 2012 and 2011. Use keyword “china” to search for them.

Leave a Reply

